Mountaineering & Climbing

Sport Clubs > Mountaineering & Climbing

ISU Mountaineering & Climbing Club

Iowa State Mountaineering & Climbing Club is an exciting club for adventurous people looking to push their own vertical boundaries. If you are looking to travel to great climbing crags all around the country with outdoorsy people, then this is the club for you. We participate in sport climbing, toprope, and trad climbing in locations like Pictured Rocks, Devil’s Lake, and even Red Rocks in Las Vegas. The Iowa State Bouldering Team also operates under the Mountaineering & Climbing Club. 

Roster Size: 20

General Meeting: Monday 8PM – 9PM in Beter 1310

ISUMCC Practice Times: Monday 9PM – 10PM

ISUMCC Practice Location: State Gym Climbing Wall

Bouldering Team Practice Times: Tuesday, Wednesday, Sunday 7:30PM – 9:30PM | Friday 5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bouldering Team Practice Locations:  Tuesday, Friday – Lied Recreation Bouldering Wall | Wednesday, Sunday – Beyer Functional Training Room

Governing Body: USA Climbing

League: Midwest Region

Regular Opponents: University of Northern Iowa, University of Iowa. University of Minnesota

 

Officer Contact Information:

President – Josh Weideman – joshw95@iastate.edu

Vice President – Cole Schwarz – schwarz@iastate.edu

Treasurer – Tom Haywood – thaywood@iastate.edu

Trip Coordinator – Parker Larsen – pjlarsen@iastate.edu

 

Team Captain Information:

Andy Plein – aplein@iastate.edu

Simon Duster – sjduster@iastate.edu

 

How to Join

To join the ISUMCC club, visit the Student Org website and register as a member, email the president, or show up to a general meeting.

General meetings are held every Monday starting September 9th 2019 at 8:00 pm in Beyer 1310.

To join the competitive Bouldering team, email one of the team captains listed above. Team try-outs will be September 13th at 5:30 pm at the Lied Recreation bouldering wall. You can also show up at the workouts and practices listed above.