Cyclone Hockey – Awards


Cyclone Hockey is committed to excellence, and every year at the Cyclone Hockey Awards Banquet the organization recognizes players deemed to be the best in a number of areas on the ice as well as in the classroom. The team also takes the opportunity to recognize the outstanding efforts of team staff members or volunteers.  Each award recipient personifies Cyclone Hockey’s commitment to excellence in different ways and, every season, help fuel the team’s success and make the organization what it is.

For a description of each award and a year-by-year listing of the award recipients, click on each award below.


At the end of each season, the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) names its Player of the Year, its three All-American teams, its Rookie of the Year, and its All-Rookie Team. In addition, at the conclusion of each National Tournament, the ACHA names the Tournament MVP and two All-Tournament teams. Over the years, Cyclone Hockey has had players tabbed for each award except for Rookie of the Year, which was a newer award implemented following the 2002-03 season.

Below is a list of each ACHA award, the Cyclones who have earned each honor, and the year/s they have done so.

ACHA Player of the Year
Glenn Detulleo – 2001
Rob Howitt – 1998
Doug Borud – 1997
Bill Ward – 1994

ACHA 1st Team All-American
Matt Cooper – 2014
Brent Cornelius – 2010
Glenn Detulleo – 2001, 2000
Darcy Anderson – 1999
Darren Anderson – 1999, 1998
Greg Jones – 1999
Doug Borud – 1997
Rusty Crawford – 1997, 1996
Rob Howitt – 1997

ACHA 2nd Team All-American
Brent Cornelius – 2009
Jeremy Meyer – 2002
Tory Larson – 2001
Rusty Crawford – 1998
Rob Howitt – 1998
Doug Borud – 1996
Kyle Geiger – 1996
Joe Schaffer – 1995

ACHA 3rd Team All-American
Adam Mueller – 2009
Brent Cornelius – 2008
David Moline – 2005
Tory Larson – 2002
Chad Evers – 1996

ACHA All-Rookie Team
Brody Toigo – 2009
Brent Cornelius – 2007

ACHA Tournament MVP
Darren Anderson – 1999
Anfu Wang – 1992

ACHA 1st Team All-Tournament
Brent Cornelius – 2010
Brad Krueger – 2010
Glenn Detulleo – 2001
Darcy Anderson – 1999, 1997
Darren Anderson – 1999
Greg Jones – 1999
Rob Howitt – 1997
Chris Poli – 1997
Rusty Crawford – 1996
Doug Borud – 1995
Randy Jervis – 1992
Anfu Wang – 1992

ACHA 2nd Team All-Tournament
Brody Toigo – 2010
Mike Lebler – 2010
Rob Rose – 2002
Nat Little – 2002
Tory Larson – 2001
Dan LaVoie – 1999
Darcy Anderson – 1998, 1995
Rusty Crawford – 1998
John Paolello – 1997
Brian Wierson – 1997, 1996
Kyle Geiger – 1996
Brian Preston – 1995
Bill Ward – 1993
Brian Williams – 1992

ACHA Men’s Division 1 All-Star Game
Matt Cooper – 2013, 2014
Jon Feavel – 2013, 2014
Antti Helanto – 2013
J.P. Kascsak – 2013
Brandon Clark – 2012, 2011
Brian Rooney – 2012
Erik Hudson – 2011
Brent Cornelius – 2010, 2009, 2008
Pete Majkozak – 2010
Dr. Alan Murdoch (Coach) – 2013, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008


Organized by the International University Sports Federation (FISU), the World University Games have been held since 1959, when the first Summer World University Games were held in Turin, Italy. The first Winter World University Games were held in Chamonix, France, in 1960, and ice hockey has been a part of 22 of the 25 Winter World University Games that have been held, including each one since the 10th Winter World University Games held in Jaca, Spain, in 1981.

Prior to the 2001 Winter World University Games in Zakopane, Poland, the United States had not participated in ice hockey, but that all changed when Cyclone Hockey Head Coach and General Manager Dr. Alan Murdoch successfully lobbied for USA Hockey to begin sending a team to the Winter World University Games comprised of players from member teams of the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA), which association Murdoch helped found in 1991. The first Winter World University Games for Team USA were rough in terms of results, but a 4-2 victory over Russia on February 10, 2001, lent immediate credibility to Murdoch’s vision, and Team USA has continued to to become more competitive and work its way up the rankings in subsequent Winter World University Games.

Coach Murdoch served as the head coach of USA Hockey’s 2001 entry and has since been part of Team USA’s staff in each of the subsequent Winter World University Games. Murdoch was the team’s general manager in 2003, 2009, and 2011 and was the team’s scouting coordinator in 2005 and 2007.

In addition to Coach Murdoch serving on Team USA’s staff on each of the Winter World University Games since the 20th Winter World University Games, Cyclone Hockey has also had at least one player on each of Team USA’s rosters, one of only four schools that can say such, with multiple Cyclones on four of the six teams USA Hockey has fielded.  Cyclone Hockey has also contributed other staff members to Team USA’s Winter World University Games over the years, too, with Josh Kruse and Anfu Wang serving as equipment managers for the 2001 and 2009 Winter World University Games respectively.

Because of Coach Murdoch’s role in USA Hockey fielding teams of ACHA players in the Winter World University Games, the Winter Universiade (as they are known around most of the world) hold a special place in the heart of Cyclone Hockey and the organization takes much pride in players and staff members being tabbed by Team USA.

Below is a listing of each of the Winter World University Games since 2001 and the Cyclones who have donned the red, white, and blue playing for Team USA at each.

2001 World University Games – Zakopane, Poland
F – Mark Krueger (Des Moines, Iowa)
D – Tory Larson (Seattle, Wash.)
F – Nat Little (Seattle, Wash.)
D – Jason McCollum (West Des Moines, Iowa)
F – Jeremy Meyer (Eden Prairie, Minn.)
F – Andrew Murdoch (Ames, Iowa)

2003 World University Games – Tarvisio, Italy
F – Tony Daniels (Downers Grove, Ill.)
D – Mike Moren (Lakeville, Minn.)
F- Andrew Murdoch (Ames, Iowa)

2005 World University Games – Innsbruck, Austria
F – Scott Hagen (Maple Grove, Minn.)
D – David Moline (Duluth, Minn.)

2007 World University Games – Torino, Italy
F – Allen Raushel (Cloquet, Minn.)

2009 World University Games – Harbin, China
D – Brent Cornelius (Fairbanks, Alaska)
F – Pete Majkozak (White Bear Lake, Minn.)
D – Adam Mueller (Broomfield, Colo.)

2011 World University Games – Erzurum, Turkey
G – Erik Hudson (Spokane, Wash.)

2013 World University Games – Trentino, Italy
G – Matt Cooper (Duluth, Minn.)
F – Jon Feavel (North Pole, Alaska)

2015 World University Games – Grenada, Spain
G – Matt Cooper (Duluth, Minn.)
F – J.P. Kascsak (Springfield, Va.)

2017 World University Games – Almaty, Kazakhstan
D – Jake Uglem (Moorhead, Minn.)

F – Tony Uglem (Moorhead, Minn.)

2019 World University Games – Krasnoyarsk, Russia
To be announced