Skip To Main Content


Facilities Fitness Intramural Sports Outdoor Recreation Personal Trainers Sports Clubs
2022 Recspys

The annual Rec Services student staff awards banquet, “The RECSPYS” took place on the evening of April 22 at the Iowa State Alumni Center. The RECSPYS honors students that have excelled in their respective roles. Award winners, their families, and any Rec Services student employee was invited. Represented areas include: Facilities, Business Operations, Marketing, Fitness, Personal Training, Adventure Programs, Sport Clubs, and Intramurals. The banquet included a meal, department award nomination videos, Grad Assistant recognition for Fitness GA, Adrienne Silberstein, and graduating senior recognition. The RECSPYS concluded with the awarding of Rec Services Student Employee of the Year and Legacy Awards. The next RECSPYS is expected to be April 21, 2023. Congrats to all of our student award recipients!

Rec Services Employee of the Year: Robert Larson

Rec Services Legacy Award: Clara Candelario

Adventure Programs Student Employee of the Year Emma Hoover-Grinde
Adventure Programs Legacy Award Thao Larson
Marketing Student Employee of the Year Cooper Pierce
Business Ops Customer Service Excellence Hannah Buffington
Business Ops Student of the Year Laura Humble
Business Ops Newcomer of the Year Sydney Parizek
Sport Club of the Year Boxing Club
Fitness Instructor of the Year Summer McVicker
Fitness Instructor Legacy Award Clara Candelario
Fitness Newcomer Instructor of the Year Annie Balk
Personal Trainer Rising Star Naja Jones
Personal Trainer of the Year Gabe Rummel
Personal Trainer Legacy Award Kota Omizu
Intramurals Student Employee of the Year Macy Wiederin
Intramurals Legacy Award Ben Garland
Intramurals Newcomer of the Year Christabel Deas
Intramurals Supervisor of the Year Jacob Bohler
Intramurals Referee of the Year Bryce Ketterhagen
Sports Turf Assistant of the Year Joe Carse
Facility Maintenance Assistant of the Year Trent Mayeraan
Cleaning Attendant of the Year Kristina Schaffhausen
Service Desk Employee of the Year Cameron Waldrep
Facility Attendant of the Year Casey Kolbeck
Lifeguard of the Year Sarah Wright
Facility Supervisor of the Year Haley Jewell
Facility Legacy Award John DeSimone
Shane De Jong Facility Operations, Facility Student Employee of the Year Robert Larson

Sport Club of the Year, Boxing Club, poses with their award.